Why I’ve Been On Hiatus

Over the past few months this blog seemed rather abandoned, and there are many reasons for that, but lack of interest or topics to write about are not among them. Instead I’ve had to focus most of my energy and my interest in gender relations on the writing of my MA thesis, which – I am excited to announce – has finally been submitted.

I have made New Year’s resolutions to blog more frequently this year and I’m convinced that that won’t be a problem. After all, besides the fact that injustices still exist (no kidding), I’ve made significant changes in my personal life that will certainly impact the topics of my articles.

Firstly, I am excited to report that I have been off the pill for three weeks for the first time in ten years! I have written about my discontents with female contraceptions before, and about my hesitation to abandon the pill. In the end, however, friends and family, the feminist net community (including your feedback) and my very sympathetic and proactive partner have convinced and encouraged me to make this first-time move with uncertain outcomes. Oh yeah, this also helped to make the decision. So far, I cannot report any significant changes, but I certainly feel better about how I am treating my body, and that, to me, is enough in and of itself.

Secondly, I have started a new job at a European NGO promoting women’s advancement in leadership positions, and I am curious to see what I will learn and how this may or may not influence my views of related issues. I’ve addressed issues before related to work, the labor market, and the women’s quota in particular. I hope this experience will give me more insight into these issues, and I will be more than happy to share them here.

Overall, I want to be an even more politically engaged person in 2013, and the first step will be to resume blogging on a more frequent level. To my regular readers: Thanks for your patience. To everyone else: Welcome (back)!

One response to “Why I’ve Been On Hiatus

  1. Congratulations! Nice to have you back. Me too. I will we back!